Park Tool CC-4 chain gauge

Park Tool CC-4 chain gauge

Regular price
€ 18,91
Sale price
€ 16,39
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Quantity must be 1 or more

No beating around the bush here, at some point even the best waxed chain will be worn out. If it elongates too much, the other expensive drivetrain components also suffer and, in the worst case, everything is ruined, apart from the shifting performance, which starts to jump with the 10 and 11 sprockets.

Changing is usually recommended from half a percent elongation onwards and I'm totally on board with that. These days, sprockets and blades are simply far too expensive to risk any wear here. Of course, it is also advisable to check the degree of wear before re-waxing a waxed chain. If this is 0.5 percent elongation, it is actually no longer worth it and the chain belongs in the bin.

With the CC-4 model from Park Tool you can measure all common chains up to the AXS models from SRAM, into which other gauges no longer fit due to the narrow design. You can see exactly how it works here in the video:

Like everything from Park Tool, this is a really good, heavy tool and made in the USA!

Park Tool CC-4 Kettenmesslehre

Park Tool CC-4 Kettenmesslehre

Normaler Preis
€ 18,91
Sonderpreis
€ 16,39
Die Menge muss 1 oder mehr sein

Es hilft ja alles nichts, irgendwann ist auch die beste gewachste Kette mal hin. Wenn sie sich zu sehr längt, leiden dann auch die anderen teuren Antriebsbauteile darunter und im schlimmsten Fall ist dann alles im Eimer, neben der Schaltperformance, die beginnend beim 10er und 11er Ritzel anfängt zu springen.

Meist wird ab einem halben Prozent Längung der Wechsel empfohlen und da gehe ich voll mit. Ritzel und Blätter sind heute einfach viel zu teuer, als das zu riskieren. Natürlich empfiehlt es sich auch, den Verschleißgrad zu kontrollieren, bevor man eine gewachste Kette zum widerholten Mal neu wachsen will. Wenn diese bei 0,5 Prozent Längung ist, lohnt sich das eigentlich nicht mehr und die Kette gehört in die Tonne.

Mit dem Modell CC-4 von Park Tool kann man alle gängigen Ketten bis hin zu den AXS-Modellen von SRAM messen, in die andere Lehren wegen der engen Bauweise gar nicht mehr reinpassen. Wie das genau geht, seht ihr hier im Video:

Wie alles von Park Tool ist das richtig gutes und schweres Werkzeug und made in the USA!